Book Review: Your Jesus is Too Safe

Recommendation: Read it.
Rating: 4/5 Stars.

9780825439315

For a few years now I’ve appreciated Jared Wilson and his work with College students and Young Adults at Element Nashville. Jared’s blog, Gospel-Driven Church, has been an encouragement and inspiration as he writes about the need for continued focus on the Gospel of Jesus Christ for non-believers as well as the Church. It came as no surprise that he was publishing a book and that the title was, “Your Jesus is Too Safe.” In his writing online, Jared has always focused on Jesus and His amazing ability to fill all needs and aspects in our lives. I’ve anticipated this book since he announced it and I’m glad to be able to participate in the blog-tour for it.

In my experience with the group of young adults that I minister with, many times we’ve encountered a low view of Jesus Christ with emphasis placed on one or two aspects of His person and having blinders to the rest. Since the very first days of the Church the ongoing struggle has been to completely acknowledge who Jesus is with all of His names and titles without overemphasizing, de-emphasizing or ignoring any of them. Even today we swing between “Jesus is love, let’s be nice to each other, everything’s going to be alright so don’t bring us down with talk of Sin, repentance, judgment and wrath.” and “We have to completely separate from the world or we’ll get some on us, legalistic, if you cuss right before you die in a car wreck you’ll go to Hell puritanism.” There are aspects of the truth in these views but we need a moderate, middle of the road, balance to our understanding of Jesus.

In “Your Jesus is Too Safe”, Jared Wilson has delivered an excellent source for a better understanding of Jesus. It could serve as a refresher for any “lifer” church member or as strong introduction to Jesus for a non-believer or a new believer. This book would serve well to give the reader a high theological view of Jesus Christ and His roles. In our times of need and weakness we have Jesus the Forgiver and Jesus the Redeemer. When we need leadership we have Jesus the Shepherd and Jesus the King. Jesus the Prophet and Jesus the Judge provide us with discipline. Through 12 chapters, Jared gives a refresher or instruction of different aspects of Jesus. In any given time in our life Jesus may only be one thing to us but we can never disregard or forget that He is all of these at once.

As I read through this book I encountered things I hadn’t heard before or were presented in a different light. I believe this book would be useful to anyone wanting to deepen their understanding of Jesus. “Your Jesus is Too Safe” would serve well in any personal or church library.

There is only one reason I give this book 4 out of 5 stars and I’m not even sure I shouldn’t have said 5. Whenever I teach or preach it could probably be guaranteed that I will use some humor which means I believe it’s useful in communicating and relating with others. I know that many times humor is determined by personal taste and I may find that I’m in a very small minority for this part of the review. As I read through “Your Jesus is Too Safe” I found myself caught off guard by how much Jared used humor in his book. I’ve been wondering if my expectations of the book were wrong. In reading Jared’s blog posts in the past, it seemed to me that he was pretty serious in his presentation of the Gospel, whether written or spoken. In reading this book there were times when I thought the humor was too much or distracting. When presenting scripture passages or stories, I think that humor diminishes or softens the truth when it doesn’t need to be or shouldn’t be.

But, this is probably me making too much of it or being caught up in my preconceived notions of how the topic would be presented. “Your Jesus is Too Safe: Outgrowing a Drive-Thru, Feel-Good Savior” sounded pretty serious to me and so I was probably thinking in the wrong direction. I am curious to read what other reviews have to say.

I did rate it 4 out of 5 because the amount of humor is a personal view and because there is so much depth and quality material in this book that I’ve already recommended it to others and will continue to do so.

I’m thankful to Jared Wilson and Kregel Publications for the complimentary copy of “Your Jesus is Too Safe” and the opportunity to participate in the blog-tour for it.

To read other reviews from the blog-tour visit: Your Jesus is Too Safe Blog Tour

1 thought on “Book Review: Your Jesus is Too Safe”

  1. I was unfamiliar with Jared before I read his book. I was assuming that it might be a harsh, judgmental response to those who didn’t have the same belief system that he did. And although he was very clear with his own views, I felt his writing was style was inviting, making it a book that I wouldn’t be afraid of giving to non-Christians to start a dialog with them. For me his humor helped in these regards. I do think it was wise, however, to put much of the humor in the footnotes. It leaves it up to the reader to put those comments into the flow of the writing or leave them out.

    Enjoyed your review!

    Like

Comments are closed.